Briefly about DECO

Briefly about DECO

Development Consulting AS (DECO) was established in Oslo in October 1984 with the intention to provide social science related professional assistance to stakeholders working in international development. Since then consultancies have been provided for the following clients:

Danida, Denmark
DfID, EnglandEU/Africa Educational Trust Fund, Ireland Ministry of Foreign Affairs, NORAD, NorwayNorwegian Institute for Air Research, Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs,
Norwegian Research Council,
Norwegian Save the Children,
NOVIB, The Netherlands
SASDA, Sweden

Sida, Sweden
SOS Children Village Foundation, Norway,
The African Development Bank, The Norwegian Ministry of Research and Education, The Norwegian Refugee Council, The Royal Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs,
The World Bank,


Currently DECO has one employed consultant: Janne Lexow (Social Anthropologist). Anders Wirak (Sociologist) was employed by Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Oslo from AUgust 2010. During the 25 years of DECO�s existence, however, a large number of experts have been contracted and employed on short and medium term basis. During the period from 1997 to 2006 the University College of Oslo, DECO and Nordic Consulting Group worked together in a consortium named LINS. LINS won two framework agreements with Norad in the field of education and development. The last agreement with Norad terminated de facto in December 2006.
Most DECO assignments are related to planning, monitoring, reviews and evaluations of projects, programmes and sector wide approaches. Important foci are rights of children, education development, gender, democracy and good governance, decentralisation, culture, environment and harmonisation processes.


DECO AS has conducted fieldwork in 40 countries: Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, China, Denmark, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, Ghana, Guinea, Hungary, India, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nepal, Nicaragua, Norway, Pakistan, Palestinian Areas, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, Zambia, Zanzibar and Zimbabwe.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes